Rendering in V10 vs V9.. Has it changed...???

Discuss Simlab Composer released by Simlab Soft
Post Reply
User avatar
Tessla
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:15 pm

Rendering in V10 vs V9.. Has it changed...???

Post by Tessla » Sat Jul 04, 2020 2:24 pm

Hi Simlab..

Normally, we can achieve quite a nice result from rending to create awesome animated movies.. However, we really struggled to get this movie to look real.. So in the end we rendered HDR images, then edited the images in Photoshop by creating a Macro to auto edit all the images from 32bit to 16bit, with some adusting. It's better, but it was a very long process, and even so, the end results is not what we aimed for.. So, what has changed in V10..?? One thing is certain, the Real-Time Render is NOT the same as the output.. This makes rendering very very hard to achieve a nice result.. Something seems to have changed..

http://tesselaar-romanoff.com/WaterSpin ... nkler.html

The Simulation was the easy part. That worked very well.. Excellent action..

Tesselaar..

User avatar
Tessla
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:15 pm

Re: Rendering in V10 vs V9.. Has it changed...???

Post by Tessla » Sun Jul 05, 2020 2:47 am

We cannot get the rendering right.. Tried, jpg, png, and HDR.. The background is crisp and clear, yet the rendering suggest the grass is very low quality and the sprinkler is blurry and not crisp ether.. You can see the grass texture in the attached.. Why is it blurry on the render???

What do you suggest we try...?? We have tried HDR, SUN and HDR+SUN.. We have used different environments too.. We are missing something.. The rending can take a very long time.. The image is only 800 X 600..

Tessleaar...
Attachments
SimLab.jpg
grass.jpg

User avatar
Tessla
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:15 pm

Re: Rendering in V10 vs V9.. Has it changed...???

Post by Tessla » Sun Jul 05, 2020 6:49 am

The screen shot is crisp, clean and vibrant. But the render in comparison is noisy blurry and dull. We cannot work out what we are doing wrong...
Attachments
SimLab000000.jpg
ScreenShot-1.jpg

User avatar
Tessla
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:15 pm

Re: Rendering in V10 vs V9.. Has it changed...???

Post by Tessla » Sun Jul 05, 2020 10:15 am

Each frame takes 13.2mins to render.. Thats 1650mis in total...= 27.5 hours.. :?

Tesselaar...

User avatar
SimLab
Posts: 3174
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:09 am

Re: Rendering in V10 vs V9.. Has it changed...???

Post by SimLab » Sun Jul 05, 2020 2:59 pm

For rendering we fixed some issues, but you should not have huge change between 9 and 10.

Did you try to scale U/V and see if this fixes the issue for you?

If you are using a high screen resolution on Mac, then may be the image that is rendered is scaled and this cause it to look more blurry.

User avatar
Tessla
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:15 pm

Re: Rendering in V10 vs V9.. Has it changed...???

Post by Tessla » Mon Jul 06, 2020 1:16 am

Yes, we did UV and we made the texture 2.. We have just started rendering again, but it can take many hours to render 150 images at 800x600.. We ran an image through Photoshop to add Sharpening.. It's better.. But we should not have to do that.. Perhaps there needs to have a few more rendering controls, including sharpening... The problem with sharpening an image that is for animation, it can make the edges sparkle or glitter... The texture we are using for the grass is a big image and very clear as you can see... But not so clear in the render..

Tesselaar...
Attachments
SimLab000008.jpg

User avatar
Tessla
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:15 pm

Re: Rendering in V10 vs V9.. Has it changed...???

Post by Tessla » Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:39 am

We added a cube, put a cameras inside the cube with a point light. You can see that the grass in the render is much more defined. So, perhaps it's the environment that makes the grass and much of the model blurry, since when the model is in a box, away from the environment, the render results are more defined..

Tesselaar..
Attachments
SimLab.jpg

Post Reply