Objects loose all their assigned names

Discuss Simlab Composer released by Simlab Soft
Post Reply
cyana
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 1:49 am

Objects loose all their assigned names

Post by cyana » Tue Aug 25, 2020 4:05 am

I can't believe this is happening! Months of work gone.

I recently opened a .sim file and found out that all assigned object names are replaced by 'IDxx':
bug1.PNG
It should look something like that instead:
bug2.PNG
bug2.PNG (17.65 KiB) Viewed 151 times
The file was created with SC10.

User avatar
SimLab
Posts: 3206
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:09 am

Re: Objects loose all their assigned names

Post by SimLab » Tue Aug 25, 2020 8:49 am

This is really strange, this does not look like automatic naming in case names were lost.

Did you open the file before, while working did it have the correct names?

cyana
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 1:49 am

Re: Objects loose all their assigned names

Post by cyana » Tue Aug 25, 2020 4:05 pm

Hi SimLab,

I used to work on the file for weeks, and it behaved normal. Yesterday I had to add another update when I found all names were gone. I did not save the file and reopened it but the names are all gone. The names stem from Rhino and were transferred from there.

The only thing that changed in between is the updated version of SC 10 - from something like .8 to .12

thanks
Cyana

User avatar
SimLab
Posts: 3206
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:09 am

Re: Objects loose all their assigned names

Post by SimLab » Wed Aug 26, 2020 10:12 am

Can you share the file with me, I can test with Composer 10.8 and 10.12?

Or if you want anstaller for 10.8 to test please let me know.

cyana
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 1:49 am

Re: Objects loose all their assigned names

Post by cyana » Wed Aug 26, 2020 8:16 pm

Hi SimLab,

I now can reproduce the bug. It happens when you export as 3D WebGL and save the file afterwards (at this stage the names are still displayed correct). After reopening, the names are all gone.
bug1.PNG
Please recheck

thanks
Cyana

User avatar
SimLab
Posts: 3206
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:09 am

Re: Objects loose all their assigned names

Post by SimLab » Thu Aug 27, 2020 2:45 pm

WebGL requires unique names, so I guess that is why those names were generated.

After export names should be set back, I will ask developers to check this soon.

cyana
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 1:49 am

Re: Objects loose all their assigned names

Post by cyana » Thu Aug 27, 2020 8:55 pm

Hi SimLab,

There is a little glitch with the scenery browser, that might contribute to the problem - sometimes the browser and the properties panel disagree on the objects name:
bug2.PNG
And please ask your developers, why they removed the vertical size gadget from the scenery browser.

thanks
Cyana

Post Reply